

Andy Hill Cancer Research Endowment Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Minutes May 17, 2022

The following board members were selected by the CARE Board of Directors at their February 23, 2022 Board meeting to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee to appoint an independent expert scientific review committee for purposes of evaluating grant proposals for cancer research and recommending grants to be made from the Andy Hill cancer research fund.

Committee Board Members Present and Constituting a Quorum: David Byrd, Beth Lawlor, Karin Rodland

Committee Board Members Absent: None

CARE Staff Attendees: Laura Flores Cantrell, Peter Choi, Sarah Hiller, Jennifer Puttuck

Guest Attendees: None

Tuesday, May 17, 2022, 1:00–2:00 p.m. (PT)

1. Welcome

Peter Choi called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. He stated that the purpose of the call was to review and approve the scientific review committee reviewer candidates provided by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) for the Population Health Grant Cycle 2 applications.

Peter shared the requirements for independent scientific review as stated in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 43.348.050 and noted that AIBS was asked to provide the reviewer candidates' qualifications that demonstrate and affirm the reviewers' subject matter expertise and the review committee's collective nationally recognized expertise in the various aspects of cancer research.

Peter asked committee members to disclose any potential conflicts of interest. Beth Lawlor noted her affiliation as an affiliate member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center and her faculty appointment at the University of Washington and that an application's principal investigator is also a clinical division member at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center. David Byrd noted his affiliation as an employee of the University of Washington. This process is to appoint the scientific review committee and no grant award decision is being made at this meeting. The process to appoint the reviewer candidates moved forward without objection.

2. Population Health Grant Cycle 2 Scientific Review Committee Appointment

The Ad Hoc Committee members discussed the scientific review committee reviewer candidates' qualifications provided by AIBS for the Population Health Grant Cycle 2 applications.

There was a question regarding the role of the review committee Chairperson and whether they would score the applications. Peter stated that he believed that the review committee Chairperson was not assigned as a subject matter expert to any of the applications but would participate in the scoring of applications. Staff will confirm this with AIBS.

A committee member noted that the role of a patient advocate or consumer advocate is not represented in the panel and suggested that this role be considered for future review panels. A discussion followed and the committee members agreed that patient advocate expertise could be a valuable addition to future panels. Laura Flores Cantrell stated that staff will present the patient advocate question to AIBS and may subsequently bring it to the full CARE Board for discussion.

The committee further discussed identifying reviewer candidates that could be a representative or advocate of the specific population to be impacted by the research. A committee member noted the importance of identifying reviewer candidates that could evaluate proposals with an anti-racism lens. The committee members expressed that they are impressed with the level of diversity and expertise in the reviewer candidates for the Population Health Grant Cycle 2.

MOTION: Beth Lawlor made a motion to appoint the reviewer candidates to the committee as presented to review the Population Health Cycle 2 grant applications; Karin Rodland seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

3. Adjourn

With no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

I certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the minutes approved by the CARE Board of Directors at a regular meeting of the Board on September 7, 2022.

Eunice Hostetter, CARE Board Secretary

09/08/2022

Date